A centralised list for every Australian inter-varsity competition.

If you know of a competition that should be included here, please email competitions@alsa.asn.au.


All law students enrolled in Australian universities are invited to register in the Administrative Appeals Tribunal National Mooting Competition which plays a key role in promoting students’ understanding of the nature of administrative law practice in the Tribunal.

Students are required to form teams comprising two advocates who act as senior counsel and junior counsel. A third team member may also be appointed who can assist the advocates but will not be permitted to speak during the moot. The team may rotate the roles as it progresses through the competition.  

The moots, conducted over five rounds at both state or territory and national level, involve fact scenarios drawn from a variety of administrative law areas including immigration and citizenship, social security, veterans’ affairs, workers’ compensation and taxation.

Each round of the competition concerns a different area of jurisdiction and is adjudicated by Members of the Tribunal.

The objectives of the competition are twofold:

to expose law students to the unique merits review jurisdiction of the Tribunal thereby highlighting the differences between Tribunal practice and procedure and that of the courts; and

to encourage law students to have an interest in pursuing administrative law practice upon completion of their legal studies.

The grand final of the competition will be held during the first week of October and be adjudicated by the President of the Tribunal, Justice Duncan Kerr, and two other Members of the Tribunal.

The Tribunal provides a travel and accommodation allowance where necessary to enable teams to participate in the grand final.

The winning team and runner up team are awarded prizes and the winners are inscribed on the Administrative Appeals Tribunal National Mooting Competition Shield located at the Brisbane Registry.


The Allen & Overy Private Law Moot is an intervarsity mooting competition hosted by UNSW Law. This prestigious competition, now in its fourth year, attracts competitors from all over Australia and a select number of international universities. Competitors have the opportunity to demonstrate commerciality and a deep interest in private law. Previous problem questions have covered equity and trusts, corporations law and contracts.

Alfred Deakin International Commercial Arbitration (ICA) Moot

 This competition is focused on international commercial law and arbitration. Arbitration is the business community’s preference for resolving international commercial disputes and legal practitioners who are skilled in this area are highly sought-after.

The moot will be run at Deakin Law School's CBD campus over two consecutive days, on 4–5 September 2019. Each team will compete in two rounds on day one, once as claimant and once as respondent. The semifinal and grand final will take place on day two. of the winning team will share in a prize of gift vouchers totalling $1000.

The rounds will be judged by legal practitioners who have competed in the Vis Moot or similar moots. The grand final will be judged by guest judges, such as:

  • Professor Christopher Kee, Dean (Education) at Flinders University, Director of the Vis Moot

  • Caroline Kenney, QC, President of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators Australia

  • Duncan Travis, Partner at Allens and current Vis Moot Coach.


The Australian Academy of Law offers an Annual Essay Prize, which was launched in 2015.

The Prize is open to anyone, wherever resident, who is studying or has studied legal subjects at a tertiary level, or who is working or has worked in a law based occupation. There is no limit by reference to the age or seniority or experience of, or position held by, a person who may submit an entry. Accordingly, judicial officers, legal practitioners, legal academics and law students are all eligible to submit an essay.

The amount of the Prize is $10,000.

In the first half of the year, the Academy announces the offering of its Annual Essay Prize for the year. There is a different topic for each year. Please check carefully for the current or latest announcement of the Annual Essay Prize.

Australian Italian Lawyers Association (AILA) Essay Competition

The Australian Italian Lawyers Association is a not for profit association of lawyers with an interest in strengthening ties between Australia and Italy.

AILA has recently decided to establish an essay writing competition exclusively for law students. Students (of Italian descent or otherwise) are invited to submit a 2,500 word response. Essays will be marked anonymously and the winning essay writer will be awarded a prize of $1,500.

In 2019, entries are due by 31 August 2019. 


The competition commenced in 2014 and complements the AAT’s well established National Mooting Competition.

The AAT General and Other Divisions makes extensive use of ADR processes and resolves 80% of matters without the need for a hearing. The format for the negotiation competition is based on the AAT’s conciliation process model. To support co-operative rather than competitive negotiation the scoring system permits both teams in one negotiation to receive strong scores and progression of teams is based on their cumulative scores across multiple negotiations.


Melbourne University Law Students' Society (MULSS), in collaboration with the Australian Association of Constitutional Law (AACL) and the Australian Government Solicitor (AGS), host the Sir Harry Gibbs Constitutional Law Moot. The competition is structured as a four round-robin moot, followed by three knockout finals rounds. There will be a $1,500 prize for the winning team and a $500 prize for the second placed team. There will also be a cocktail party and a gala dinner for all competitors. All moots, other than the Grand Final, will be held at Melbourne Law School. The Grand Final will be hosted at the Federal Court in Melbourne.


RMIT Law Student Society in conjunction with Zaparas Lawyers are proud to present the state wide competitive moot, which focuses on personal injury law and is the only moot of its kind in Australia.

Teams of two or three may enter, each LSS/A may enter two teams, subject to availability.